Bordelon wins District E seat on Police Jury

Newly-elected police juror Danny Bordelon


Danny Bordelon’s election Saturday to the District E Police Jury seat leaves one seat unresolved.

Bordelon defeated Travis Herrington in the runoff to succeed Rusty Wilder.

Who will succeed the late Theodore Fountaine in District D remains officially unresolved.

Fountaine died Nov. 13. The jury has 20 days to appoint a successor for his unexpired term, which ends in January. Otherwise it is a gubernatorial appointment.

But come the second Monday in January the new jury takes office and Fountaine’s new four-year term begins.

Because more than 18 months will remain in that term, to which Fountain was re-elected in October, the jury will evidently have to again appoint a successor as well as call a special election.

Again, the 20-day requirement apparently applies, with the governor handling the matter if the jury fails to.

There is already a special parish election schedule in March, called by Gov. John Edwards for selecting a successor to District Judge John Davidson, who retired in September.